Freedom of Choice Act (FOCA)

I read an email recently about the Freedom of Choice Act that I wanted to share with all of you.  Here is an excerpt that I find very interesting. 

“My understanding is that FOCA would create a national abortion policy that would far exceed the Roe v. Wade decision.  It would:

1.  Force American taxpayers to fund abortions.

2.  Force every state to allow partial-birth abortions.

3.  Destroy the conscience right of physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and hospitals that oppose abortion on religious, moral or ethical grounds.

4.  Strip parents of their rights and responsibility to be involved in their minor daughter’s abortion decision.

As I was thinking about this and struggling with the moral aspects of it, I started to wonder what percentage of hospitals and clinics in the U.S. are affliated with religious organization.  I don’t know the answer to this, but it has to be staggering.  What is going to happen to these institutions if FOCA passes?  How many will close their doors?  What effect will this have on health care?  What will the cost be to taxpayers if FOCA becomes law?

I think we should all be calling and mailing notes to our Senators and Congressmen expressing the concerns that we have about the Freedom of Choice Act.”

Thinking along these terms,  is it really “freedom” or tragedy this act of choice will bring?!

