The Continuing Healing

“If you look for truth, you may find comfort in the end; if you look for comfort you will not get either comfort or truth, only soft soap and wishful thinking to begin, and in the end, despair.” – C.S. Lewis

Below is another exerpt taken from the book Redeeming a Father’s Heart.  If you haven’t already, read this post for more on how abortion affects men.

In my eyes my future remained clear. One of us was in love and it wasn’t me. I knew what needed to be done. I bought into the multitude of lies that our society so eagerly spread and my government and lawmakers so readily deemed “best” for me. No problem, no guilt. All I had to do was write an inexpensive check and that “problem” would easily go away.

            I was looking for comfort when I should have been seeking the truth. Instead, I regurgitated the same lies and used all the common excuses to not live up to my responsibility; I was in college, too young (she was even younger), no money, in no way ready to be a father, and again, I knew she and I had no future together.

            The lie that sealed the deal? It’s only a “blob of tissue. It’s not a baby until sometime later,” I was told. However, no one could tell me exactly when that time was. This dehumanizing of the baby was the biggest lie of all. This final lie closed the deal to how I was able to completely disconnect from the truth of what was about to take place and decide to have the abortion.

 

 

 

